My Grand Marquis Diary

March 17th, 2024

Delivered the car to the mechanic today! I've never gone to an individual before, but someone I trust recommended this guy, and I have to say, he seems great! He was excited to see the car, and had a lot of observations about her. He also has SO many cars by his house that he takes care of. He's obviously super passionate and knowledgable.

The drive over was super nice and relaxing. I followed someone who could drive me back and got to just enjoy the drive while listening to music. I don't have a phone mount yet, so wedging the phone between the seat cushions worked well enough. (I have a bluetooth cassette, but it needed to charge.) Driving her just feels so good .

He showed me a very funny way to start the car without using the ignition, as well as that switching to Overdrive disengages the parking brake (why do modern cars not have this??). A rusty piece of wire under the rear bumper revealed to us that at some point, she had a trailer hitch installed and was probably used to trail something. I've also been convinced to replace the faded wood paneling – I can keep the existing vinyl and use it as a decoration somewhere in my house!

After I left, I got a message from the mechanic telling me that she actually has rear air bags that raise and lower the height of the car and change the handling characteristics! One of the previous owners disconnected the cables that are the air lines to it for some reason. Excited to find out exactly how it changes the handling!

Another step complete!